My Due Date Came and Went

Yesterday was my due date and nothing yet. I had a prenatal appointment today and I was measuring between 1-2 cm and about 70% effaced. The baby is lower in my pelvis now and my cervix is a bit softer and further forward. All of that really means nothing though since things could progress very rapidly or slowly.

At this point, the plan is that if I’m still pregnant at 41 weeks, I’ll be booked for an ultrasound to check on the baby and then meet with the doctor to discuss the results and our options. The general rule is that I’d be induced at 41 weeks + 3 days (November 7). I am afraid of being induced because it’s supposed to make contractions more intense and it will increase the likelihood that I’ll get an epidural and/or need forceps, vacuum, and/or a c-section. There is another part of me that fears waiting, as our little one is already on the larger size (75th percentile) and growing by the day. And I just learned that J had extra large shoulders at birth. Ultimately, the safe arrival of our little girl is what really matters.

3 thoughts on “My Due Date Came and Went

    • Thank you! I am so impressed by you, being induced and delivering without epidural! As much as I want to try without (although I never made promises I wouldn’t end up getting one), I feel like there’s a 99% likelihood that I will beg for one if I am induced.

      • I won’t lie…it is REALLY hard with an induction. It’s possible to do without, but definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done. If you do “beg” for an epidural, though, know that it’s okay and go easy on yourself. I had an epidural when I was induced with my first and I don’t regret it. It’s what I needed at the time and it helped me to enjoy the experience more, I think. Wishing you the very, very best! Can’t wait to hear the good news very soon!

Leave a Reply

