7 Things Sex Education Should Have Taught Us But Didn’t — The Good Men Project

When I applied to grad school, I was accepted to a program where my research would have focused on sex. The researcher I would have been working with was focused on sex education at the time. I have always been someone who believes that knowledge is power, in all areas of life, including sex. (Abstinence only programs don’t work. Point blank.) Human sexuality is  multidimensional – physical, biological, emotional, social, psychological . . . There’s so much to be explored and yet much of our society shies away from it as though it is something so taboo, a dirty, shameful secret, which only leads to unhealthy attitudes, expectations, and experiences.

On that note, I’d like to present the article that inspired me to post: 7 Things Sex Education Should Have Taught Us But Didn’t — The Good Men Project.

2 thoughts on “7 Things Sex Education Should Have Taught Us But Didn’t — The Good Men Project

  1. What an awesome article!

    When we moved to Mississippi and I learned that the schools here do abstinence only education, I turned to my husband and told him that I’m going to be the hated mother on the playground because my child will know the correct names for all of their body parts and what they do, sexually and non-sexually, and will probably end up telling their friends. I’ve heard so many horror stories down here about teens getting pregnant young because they didn’t fully understand how sex works. It blows my mind that we’re not teaching children what they need to know. I’ll admit that when I started my infertility journey, I didn’t realize that there’s only a 24-36 window of time for conception to occur because no one told me. I was told that if I had sex ever, I would get pregnant the first time. Obviously that didn’t happen.

    When I read, “But never in the heat of passion have I ever thought about my vas deferens or the quality of her uterine lining.” I’ll admit that my first thought was, “Well he’s obviously never tried to have a child with an infertile woman.”

    I don’t know if you follow her already, but Kimberly over at No Good Eggs (http://nogoodeggs.wordpress.com/) was a sexual education teacher and would once in a while post the questions she would get from her students. From what I could tell, she would answer them fully and honestly, no matter how strange they were. She’s one of the few sexual education teachers who I feel was doing it right.

    Thank you for posting this!

    • Good for you! I applaud your stance on teaching your child the proper names for body parts, including sexual ones. I full agree! I think by giving cutesy euphemisms we’re sending a covert message that the proper ones are dirty or inappropriate, which is the first step in feeding unhealthy views on sex.

      I definitely learned much more about the specifics of reproductive health through our infertility struggles as well. I, too, thought that every act of sex could very well lead to a pregnancy, which was what I was hoping to avoid up until a couple years ago. And I considered myself pretty sex informed (even when I was the least experienced of my friends, my frequent cosmo reading and excellent rote memory made me a walking sexual encyclopedia to my friends).

      Thanks for passing on the link. Even though I focused my research on cyber bullying instead of sexuality, I still have a keen interest in the matter (both personally and academically).

Leave a Reply

