Falling in love with my husband all over again . . .

A little over a year ago I wrote about my skewed perception of Fathers. Now that we’re seriously counting down to the arrival of our little girl, my heart is melting as I absorb the love that J is already showing toward her. He started out feeling both nervous and happy, but I think the nerves were more prominent. Now he says he is still nervous, but his excitement clearly outweighs it. He is always saying cute things like “I love you girls”, “I can’t wait to do (insert some cute girly activity) with Lyla”, “I can’t wait to meet you”, etc. When he touches and kisses my belly, there’s such a tenderness in his touch. He has also amazed me with how understanding and patient he is with me and how helpful he has been. When I’m tired and I fail to accomplish the things I wanted to do around the house or I just spend the day being totally lazy, he is quick to point out that I am growing a human and it’s totally understandable. That means so much to me as I tend to be hard on myself or feel guilty if I’m not living up to what I think I should be doing. He’s just been so amazing, so invested, so loving, and so psyched about our little girl and myself that I often find myself with happy tears in my eyes telling Lyla how lucky she is to have a daddy like hers.

Leave a Reply

