Update on my Placenta

Awhile back, I posted that I have a low lying placenta. I was initially freaked out by reading all of the risks associated with it and, more specifically, with placenta previa. Luckily I haven’t had any bleeding so there has been no cause for concern. I was told that 99% of cases end up with normally located placentas by 28-30 weeks. So at 30, almost 31, weeks, I went back for another ultrasound. My placenta is still lower than they want. They want it 2+ cm away from the cervix and mine is 1.4 cm away. It seems like such a small difference, but I guess when 2 cm is the magic number, you’re dealing with quite small measurements. They scheduled me for another ultrasound on Sept 12 because there is still a chance it could move that extra .6 cm. However, I am resigning myself to the idea of having to have a scheduled c-section, because it’s my understanding that would be protocol with a low lying placenta, as it is with previa. I didn’t originally want a c-section because it is major surgery, the recovery is longer, there will be more of a disruption in bonding post-birth (I really want to do skin to skin and nurse as soon as possible, but I don’t think that’s possible with a c-section), and I want to know what going into labor feels like. At the same time, with labor and delivery becoming more and more of a reality, I am a bit scared of being able to handle the pain. Of course I know I will get through it if given the chance to deliver vaginally, with or without epidural (likely with if I’m honest with myself), but I’m nervous. I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow, so I will ask about options then.

4 thoughts on “Update on my Placenta

  1. I know exactly what you are going through. I think I may have already told you this, but I had a full placenta previa for about the first 20-30 weeks of pregnancy when I was expecting my daughter. The placenta did eventually migrate, but only slightly and it was then considered a marginal previa (otherwise known as a low-lying placenta). Like with you, they wanted the placenta to be 2cm from the cervical os and mine was about 1.2 by the time I reached the end of my pregnancy. However, my doctor consulted with a high-risk OB who deals with situations like mine and yours and was advised that a vaginal birth is still very possible. So I had a choice between a C-section and an induction (because my doctor didn’t want me going into labor at home). I was very passionate about wanting a vaginal birth and was devastated at the thought of a C-section, so I chose the induction. Everything went textbook and I gave birth vaginally to my daughter with no complications at all. There are still risks involved with a vaginal delivery (namely, hemorrhage), but the odds are in your favor and if you deliver at a hospital that is prepared for an emergency C-section if it becomes necessary, you and your baby will be in good hands. I know not all doctors are open to this possibility, but if a vaginal delivery is very important to you, it may be worth finding a doc who is because it can be done. If you have any more questions, feel free to e-mail me: cassie.s.dash@gmail.com. I’m happy to help!

  2. I had c section because I developed preeclampsia but before this happened there was an excellent chance I was going to have a c section due to placenta previa and some other things. Honestly, having the C section was not bad at all. I was really concerned about recovery but was up and about really quickly. In fact, people who came to visit me were shocked at how quickly I recovered. A good friend of mine who recently gave birth vaginally told me that I looked better off than she did when it was all over. Pain wise it was really manageable afterwards. To be completely honest, for me the most painful part of childbirth was pumping afterwards. The cramps during pumping were the worst part. The scariest part was when the epidural was going into my back. My legs went into shock and felt like they were being electrocuted..once we were over THAT hump..I could not feel anything. When the babies were born my husband brought each baby over to my face and I kissed them..then they were wisked away into NICU. Good luck with everything!

    • I do hope that if I need a c-section the recovery won’t be as bad as I fear. I can handle soreness pretty well in general. I heard that studies show that redheaded women have the highest pain tolerance. Hopefully that’s true :)

Leave a Reply

