Inferno

When The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown first came out, I devoured it. I love mysteries and I find secret societies and conspiracies captivating. Also, my minor in my undergrad was religious studies, and as someone who has always questioned organized religion, or at least at the rigid, literal interpretation of it, I found it very intriguing. I went on to read all of Dan Brown’s books. The ones that feature the main character Robert Langdon are my favorites. My interest in these books is enriched by my travel experiences, as I have visited the cities in which they are set. The Da Vinci Code involves a battle between the Priory of Sion and Opus Dei over the relationship between Jesus and Mary Magdalene. Leonardo Da Vinci’s artwork was heavily featured, which was also appealing to me because when I was 11, I went to Paris and actually visited Da Vinci’s home during a day trip. But I digress. Angels & Demons involves the Illuminati and papal conclave (the process of choosing a new pope). The Lost Symbol is about the Free Masons. Now I have finished Inferno, another novel featuring Robert Langdon. This one centers on overpopulation, biological weaponry, and transhumanism. I found it very interesting and, again, my religious studies history came into play because I once wrote a paper on Christianity’s role in overpopulation for a Religious Ethics and the Environment course that I hated. It’s probably not my favorite Dan Brown book but I think The Da Vinci Code will always hold that place because I tend to favor my first introduction to an author even when I really enjoy his/her other books. Still, it’s a good read. You learn some interesting history, it gets you thinking about topics you probably don’t think about on a regular basis, and it keeps you on your toes.

Leave a Reply

