The Birth House

While I was back on the east coast visiting family and friends, I finished the book The Birth House by Ami McKay. In a nutshell, the book is about a young girl who  becomes a midwife during the first world war. Of course when there are stories of women coming of age, finding their path, and babies being born, there are many other topics that are pertinent and interesting to women as well. The book also broaches topics of a woman’s right to choose her own health care options, sexuality, family planning, marriage, domestic violence, and the power of community.

Part of what made this book interesting is that it takes place in a small part of Nova Scotia. For those who don’t recall, I grew up in Fredericton, New Brunswick – part of the Maritimes (a select grouping of east coast provinces) in Canada. New Brunswick borders Nova Scotia, which is also part of the Maritimes, and my husband’s birth province. So even though I have never been to Scots Bay (the setting of the book), there was reference to other places I’m familiar with, including Fredericton, and living on the other side of the country makes me excited about any reference to the Maritimes!

All in all, I enjoyed the book. It was especially interesting to read it while pregnant. It’s a book I’ve wanted to read for awhile because of great reviews, but I worried it would be a trigger to read it while TTC. It’s not a fast-paced, thrilling book, but it’s definitely a story worth reading.

Leave a Reply

