Feeling Scared

I have been blissful during this pregnancy and we were told that everything looked good at our anatomy scan. However, baby girl was all curled up so they couldn’t get all of the heart and spine measurements they needed. I am scheduled to have another ultrasound on Monday. I wasn’t worried though.

This morning, a nurse from my maternity clinic called. She said that I have a low lying placenta. I asked if that was related to placenta previa and she said that previa is when the placenta completely covers the cervix, but mine is just low. In most cases (90-99% depending on what you read/hear), the placenta will move up and out of the danger zone later in pregnancy. So they are scheduling another ultrasound for 28-30 weeks. I love the opportunity to see my baby again, but after I got off the phone with the nurse, I started researching and got scared. Chances are baby and I are going to be just fine, and even if I do develop placenta previa, that’s likely still the case. But reading about worse case scenarios and complications has me freaked out.

Even though I haven’t had any spotting so far, I am once again scared about the possibility of bleeding. I was told that if I have any bleeding, I need to go to the hospital right away. Now I have fears of bleeding in the night and not waking up until it’s too late. I know I’m catastrophizing, but my mind always goes to worst case scenarios at least once. If I were to start bleeding and they put me on bed rest, that obviously affects my job. So I think I should probably come up with a contingency plan with my boss about who will take over my clients if I have to leave before I’m able to wrap things up/at short notice. I hope I never have to put that plan into action, but I think discussing it would be smart.

My mom is away at a medical conference right now, but I texted her the news. She wrote back saying that the doctor will watch me closely. I’m glad that he will, but it is scary that he now needs to. I just really want my baby to make it to a live birth and hopefully be healthy and full-term.

7 thoughts on “Feeling Scared

  1. Oh, friend, I know this news is scary to hear. I have been there! I mean…literally. I had a complete placenta previa during my first pregnancy. We were put on all sorts of restrictions (like no sex) and I was scared to death. But really, a low lying placenta is so much better than that! The chances of bleeding are much less compared to a complete previa AND the chances of the placenta moving up and out of the danger zone are greater! Also, from what I have been told, there is no way for a low-lying placenta to become a previa. Placentas can only move up, not down. It’s possible you did have a previa at one point and the placenta is already on the move.

    And for the record, even with my full placenta previa, I had no bleeding and gave birth to a healthy baby. The placenta did eventually move enough (just barely) to allow me a vaginal delivery (though I had to be induced, to avoid going into labor away from medical professionals), but it all ended well and could not have gone better. I know every situation is different and that it’s hard to be told that there are any possible complications, but I just want you to know that there’s so much hope here and the chances are very good that it will all be fine.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story! That was very comforting. Now that the shock and initial fear has worn off, I’m hoping to visualize the placenta moving up and to think happy, positive thoughts. I’ll have to tell J tonight and he is likely to worry about worst case scenarios as well, but hopefully I can present it in a hopeful way so that he doesn’t freak out as well.

  2. being pregnant is an overly anxious time, i understand how you’re feeling
    is the placenta anterior or posterior?? at our 12 week scan they noted ours was anterior
    we were scheduled/booked to have our 20 week anatomy scan and gender screening yesterday but after waiting around 40 minutes after our appointment time they told us there had been an error when booking it in and we’d been booked for the wrong thing and now we have to wait another two weeks!! i was devastated, i’ve been anxious to “see” the baby again and find out if the position of the placenta has anything to do with why i haven’t yet felt anything more than flutters :(

    • It’s anterior and even before my doctor knew that, he said he’d be surprised if, as a first time mom, I could definitively feel movement at this point (18.5 weeks at the time). He said if my placenta was anterior, I’d like feel movement later rather than sooner.

      I would have been really upset to have my ultrasound postponed, let alone by 2 weeks. In addition to being in an anterior position, was your placenta also low? As far as I know, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with anterior position itself (other than it delays when you can feel the baby but that’s not a problem really).

      I hope that you’ll be able to pass the time before your scan without much anxiety and that the scan goes really well!

      • I was very upset, many tears were shed :( I have no idea about whether its low we would have found out at the scan they’ve postponed
        X

Leave a Reply

