2nd Trimester!

I had my NT scan today. The results were all low risk, which is a huge relief! And as the super added bonus, we got to see our Jujube! He or she was kicking legs, waving arms and hands, and had hiccups that were enough to make the whole body jump! I was told that I am measuring at the original due date I was given. So my due date is once again October 28th. This means I “skipped” 6 days of pregnancy and jumped from 12 weeks, 2 days to 13 weeks, 1 day. I am officially in my second trimester!

NT Scan2 (1 of 1)

The saga of dumb, ignorant comments continued today, but this time they were of a different sort. I have this coworker who frequently makes ignorant and impulsive comments. Today was no exception. To preface this, I will state that I am short and a redhead (albeit it’s more of a subtle light reddish brown with natural blonde highlights than a flame red). This girl said, “I hope if you have a boy he isn’t short or redheaded!” Her tone was serious and insulting, as if this would be such a horrible thing. I sarcastically said thanks and it’s not like it would change how I feel about my baby. She tried to justify her comment by saying that redhead and/or short boys tend not to get the girl. It was just the most asinine thing to say. I felt very defensive of my baby and it also seemed like the vainest, stupidest thing to say. Another coworker then said that her son is short (at the 3rd percentile), yet this inappropriate girl didn’t even seem phased and continued with questions and comments. When I told J, his response was, “And so what if he was?!” Thank you husband for the perfect response! It’s true, so what if he is. I sometimes worry about the health of my baby, even though a health condition wouldn’t change my love. However, worrying about my baby’s height, hair color, or general appearance is not even on the radar and nor should it be on anyone else’s!

7 thoughts on “2nd Trimester!

  1. I literally said J’s response out loud… so what if he is? My hubby is short at 5’7″ and it doesn’t make me love him any less. You should’ve asked that co-worker if she wanted a shovel, b/c she just kept digging herself deeper and deeper.

    And excuse me, since when do red head guys not get girls? Has she not seen Dr. Hunt from Grey’s Anatomy?! or Prince Harry? um, they’re HOT!

    • Yeah, this coworker just doesn’t have a clue about many things. When we were still trying, she once told me that her roommate told her you can’t get pregnant without orgasming. I told her that’s absolutely not true. It can help, but it’s not necessary. After all, people get pregnant through rape. Then she said, “Oh, I was wondering if that was your problem!” I couldn’t believe it. First of all, that’s stupid, and second, we’re fine in that dept. This girl has a master’s degree for F’s sake.

      I do admit to thinking that redheaded guys weren’t attractive when I was in high school, but I have seen several handsome/hot redheaded men. I think they grow into their looks. Also, there aren’t that many redheads and not all of them will be attractive. Same way not every brunette or blond is attractive, but there are more to sample from so you might get more hotties in terms of number. I bet the proportion is the same.

  2. Happy 2nd trimester! So glad the scan went well. But I can’t believe someone would say that to you. Really?!?! Totally insensitive, rude, asinine, inappropriate, there are so many words in my thesaurus I could use! And by the way…my first great love was a redhead, and incredibly, incredibly good-looking. :)

    • Thanks! Absolutely everyone I have discussed it with sees the absurdity of her comment. She’s just so clueless most of the time. Glad to know you had some ginger love in your life :) We may not have souls, but we are feisty lol! My husband is 6’4″, brunette, olive skin, green eyes. I am 5’2.5″ (yes that half an inch is important haha), reddish hair, very fair skin with freckles, and deep blue eyes. We’ll see what happens. Either way I will discover a new kind of everlasting, impossibly deep love!

  3. Some people just don’t think before they speak. It seems people always have something hurtful to say at every stage of the game. Yay for the second tri and good news scan! How are you feeling?

  4. Hi! Just found your blog! Congrats on the 2nd trimester…we are really really close in our pregnancies. My Due Date is Oct 31st (yep, halloween). Congrats on a great NT scan and ignore other peoples’ stupidity. ;)

    • Thank you! That’s great that you’re also expecting. People keep saying that I might have a Halloween baby. My husband and I love Halloween (he even proposed before we went to a friend’s Halloween party back in 2007). Whatever day baby comes, obviously he or she will be welcomed with open arms and hearts. I hope you have a healthy, happy, and comfortable pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

