Update

I am 8 weeks now and I feel like I have a belly, but it’s probably just bloating and fat. My symptoms include: constipation, LOTS of burping, constant mild nausea, fatigue, some heartburn, and intermittently sore boobs. This morning, I threw up for the first time. It was before I had eaten anything, so it was just a bit of bile. I have gagged and heaved before, even knelt before the toilet just in case, but never actually had to puke. I wonder if this was a one time thing, or if it’s a sign of more to come.

I don’t have any weird food cravings. I’m not even sure when that typically starts. I have had cravings for things I normally like (but don’t often eat) and I satisfy those. I find that I’m having more food aversions than cravings. It seems that the thought of fruit and veggies turns my stomach. I was drinking smoothies at first, but then I started feeling sick after. I spent a Sunday afternoon in bed after one smoothie. I feel bad because I know I should be eating tons of fruits and vegetables for my growing baby, but I seem to only want carbs and other junk. I have read that the baby will take whatever nutrients it needs from you and it doesn’t need much at this point, but I just want to do the best for my baby and I feel like I’m not.

I booked my 12 week ultrasound (the NT scan) for April 23rd. I am anxiously awaiting it. I hope the baby is low risk and still developing properly. I am so excited to see him/her looking more like a baby. And I’m excited to be able to stop hiding/lying about my pregnancy.

We call the baby Jujube (J hated all the other ideas I came up with). I talk to Jujube every day and I definitely feel in love already.

5 thoughts on “Update

  1. Try not to worry too much about what you’re eating right now. If carbs is what stays down and tastes good, then eat carbs. Eventually, you’ll be able to get back to a more balanced diet.

  2. I know how you’re feeling! Nothing sounds good but when I do choke something down it’s usually unhealthy. It’s the only stuff that actually stays down. I love the name Jujube! It’s awesome!

  3. I also only want carbs. Sadly, I’ve developed an aversion to vegetables! I agree that at this point, you just eat what you can eat. It happens to so many people, and their babies turn out fine. =)

    • I’m glad to have gotten support through this post. It subdues the guilt and makes me feel normal :) Hubby brought me a smoothie home from the mall last night though. I know he’s worried that I’m not getting enough fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

