Y

Here’s the latest installment in my half-assed book reviews (how do you do a good book review without giving too much of the plot away?!). Before I left for Mexico, I started the book Y: A Novel by Marjorie Celona.  It was recommended to me by a coworker. Normally, this coworker has really great recommendations, so I expected to be riveted. The book had an interesting premise, but I just wanted to get through it. I still hadn’t finished it by the time we left for Mexico, but I rarely give up on a book and it was interesting enough, so I finished it on the beach. That’s never a bad way to finish a book, but I wanted to get into one of the frivolous reads I had downloaded for the trip.

Y is the story of a girl who was abandoned by her mother on the doorstep of a YMCA. The story goes back and forth between this girl, who was abandoned shortly after birth, and her mother. The girl’s story is told as she ages, whereas the mother’s story takes the reader up to the point of the birth and abandonment. The plot is interesting, but I didn’t connect with the characters. I didn’t truly like any of them and they all felt weird (for lack of a better word). They weren’t people I could relate to and they often felt awkward. I wanted to know how the story ended, but it was the kind of book that I could put down for days and not really be itching to read more.

4 thoughts on “Y

  1. I’ve never heard of this book. The plot does sound interesting. It’s too bad the characters aren’t more likeable.. I need that. I’m currently reading February- about 3/4 through. It’s well written but I’m not really connecting either. Hopefully it’ll turn around- I also hate to give up on a book. Recently finished Indian Horse and Away (all CBC Canada Reads selections for 2013). They were good but not great. Embarrassingly I also read Stephanie Meyer’s “The Host” in the past few weeks. It started off strong- I loved the premise.. but the plot kinda stalled midway through. It was less intellectual but more enjoyable than the CBC picks. It’s coming out as a movie soon. I’m interested to see what it’s like on the big screen!

  2. Yeah there’s nothing like a good fun read every now and again. Did you like The Host? I think the author is working on a sequel. I’d read it.

    So I finished February and it was so-so. Mostly depressing and kinda boring. I’m really surprised that it won. I just started Cloud Atlas last night. Too early to tell if I’ll like it but it seems interesting enough.

    • I did like The Host. I will admit to reading and becoming engrossed in the teen drama that was Twilight and I have to say I preferred Twilight to The Host, but I was still hooked by the end of The Host. I’d read a sequel and I’ll see the movie.

Leave a Reply

