Reminiscing

A few weeks ago I decided to sort through old emails. I had a great time reliving some of the memories with friends, but the best was reading emails from J. The emails were from when we first started dating and the 8 months we did long distance. They were so sweet and funny! They made me feel all sentimental and loving. They also made me miss showering together! (Now we treat showers as functional rather than opportunities for intimacy.) Even though there are moments that still give me butterflies, there are few surprises after seven years together. We are fully committed partners who are very much in love, but revisiting those early days reminds me of the initial spark and I can’t help but re-experience the excitement. I made sure to keep those emails so I could return to them whenever I may need that reminder or a dash of romance.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing

Leave a Reply

