What am I reading?

I have decided that since I love to read and I hope that someday this blog won’t only be a place to spill my guts about infertility, I’ve decided I’ll start adding in some posts about what I’m currently reading. Two Christmases ago, J bought me a Kindle and it is one of my all-time favorite presents. It was really a 4-in-1 gift because when I opened it, it was in a snazzy green leather case that has a built in retractable reading light (powered by the Kindle itself) and then I turned it on and the two books I had asked for were already downloaded to my new Kindle. Since I got my Kindle I have been reading more because as soon as I finish a book, I can download another one. I like to read for a bit before bed so I’m not exactly devouring books but there is always one on the go. As I hope to make this kind of post a regular installment, I am tagging it as Books, as I will do with all future reading posts (in case you missed some and want to catch up/get some book recommendations).

Right now, I’m reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. A friend of mine had read it and she appeared to have mixed feelings about it, but said it was a good read. I am over halfway through it at the moment and it has my attention. It’s the kind of book where you don’t know who to root for, if anyone. I also enjoy a good mystery with twists and turns and I am anticipating that this book will give me that. I don’t want to give the plot away too much, but it’s about a woman who goes missing and the husband left behind. It’s kind of dark and twisted and, at the very least, entertaining.

Because this is my first Books post, I’ll also mention the book I finished just before starting Gone Girl. It was Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. It’s been around for awhile and I’m pretty sure it was a Best Seller. As is the case with Gone Girl, the chapters alternate between different perspectives (I like those kinds of books). In this case, the story is told from the perspectives of a young French Jewish girl during the Holocaust and an American journalist living in modern day Paris. Their stories intertwine and I found it to be such an emotional read. Warning though, infertility is featured. It seems like it keeps sneaking up on me in several of my books within the past year!

4 thoughts on “What am I reading?

  1. I have a Kindle and looooove it! I loved Gone Girl too! I haven’t picked up Sarah’s Key but thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I got a Kobo for Christmas and I agree that it has definitely increased my reading time. Gone Girl is my next book!, my boss recommended it too. I am reading “The Paris Wife” right now, written from the perspective of Ernest Hemingway’s wife Hadley. I am really enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

