Another One Bites The Dust


So I think I am stealing the title of this blog post from one I read awhile back (in reference to the same topic), and of course Queen, but it’s what sprang to mind. Today is CD27. Yesterday I had a bit of spotting along with ewcm (why is it that I only seem to get quality ewcm right before my period?!). I figured it was just a matter of hours/a day and I was right. Today started out spotless, then a bit of spotting, and now there’s enough where I couldn’t deny it any longer and I reached for a tampon.

Strangely I am not that upset and still in a good mood (I think it’s my Christmas-y mood as of late). It is a bit ironic though that my period seems to come just as soon as I let myself get excited and start to daydream about how I’ll tell people I’m pregnant. Especially with Christmas coming up and my parents coming to visit from the 27th to January 2nd, the idea of being pregnant now seemed like it would be by far the best present I could EVER receive.

I had been really excited this cycle because my ovulation seemed to come earlier and at a much more normal time, but it seems that my luteal phase has decided to remain consistent. So instead of a normal follicular and luteal phase, I just ended up with a short (26 day) cycle. I know that my ovulation timing could be a fluke this cycle, but I feel like acupuncture and herbs are finally doing their job in getting my ovulation date moved up. So at my Sunday appointment, I plan on addressing the short luteal phase and my dearth of cervical mucus with my doctor of traditional Chinese medicine (TCM). In TCM they say that often when you treat one issue it uncovers another one that was underneath that first layer. So I’m guessing we’re making progress but there is still more work to do. I’m kind of hoping that doesn’t mean different herbal mixtures though as I have already spent so much on the ones I have used and I still have plenty left (especially since this is likely my last cycle of herbs).

Even though I had posted about being more “zen” with timelines and the whole process in an earlier post (see What’s Another Year), I think that was partially because I had high hopes for November. It started when I read a year-in-review type of horoscope that said November would be a good month start (“start”) trying to conceive. Normally I don’t read or believe in my horoscope (Barnum Effect) and I only went to the site because I saw it linked from another TTC blog, but something about November rang true for me. At the time I thought that November was a possibility for either starting with the RE or maybe even starting treatment (I had naive hopes of starting treatment as soon as we saw the RE) and it would mark my third month of acupuncture and herbs (which seems to be a turning point in the literature – although my doctor of TCM pointed out that the published articles tend to include the most successful case studies). So I did have my hopes up about this November. At the same time, I am still hoping for it to happen by next November. I feel like this month could be a turning point in terms of my follicular phase and if 85% of couples get pregnant in the first year of trying, maybe I’ll have an 85% chance within the next year now that things seems to be working a bit better in my system. This is probably warped logic and it’s not like we’re going to wait out the year and see rather than pursue medical intervention, but it gives me something to hold on to.

One thought on “Another One Bites The Dust

Leave a Reply

