Pelvic Ultrasound

“So I basically just had a dildo inside of me, ” I said to my coworker (and friend) as we went for lunch.

The pelvic ultrasound was interesting to say the least. First they did the on top of the tummy ultrasound (which I didn’t know to expect) and then the tech handed me a long wand covered in a condom and lube and told me to insert it into myself. That was pretty awkward but no biggie. The tech proceeded to move the wand around and I swear she was hitting my g-spot at one point. I was afraid things could get a whole lot more awkward, but there was little movement so it never came to that. Then she moved the wand over to the right and kept pressing with it and I felt pain. It was actually more uncomfortable/painful than my HSG, which I know is the opposite of what most experience. It wasn’t super painful, but I did wince a couple times.

Unfortunately the tech couldn’t (wouldn’t?) give me any answers at my appointment and I have to wait until December 11th for my next appointment with the RE. Then we’ll get the results of J’s SA and all my test results. I know this may be counterintuitive to some, but I really hope they find something so they can pinpoint where to target the treatment.

8 thoughts on “Pelvic Ultrasound

    • They didn’t so much “let me” as tell me I was going to be the one to do it. I know a friend had a choice and chose not to. There was no choice for me, at least not as it was expressed.

      The tummy part made me kinda sad. I expected my first tummy one to be when I was getting to see my future baby. I was also a little sad in the waiting room because there was a couple right next to me waiting for the u/s pic of their baby and they were talking about how their next one would be the 3D one. Talk about a juxtaposition of opposites.

  1. Haha, yes, I call it the “Dildo-cam”…get used to it, if you end up doing treatments you will get A LOT of experience with it! As far as inserting it myself, some of the doctors at my clinic make me put it in, one asks whether I want to and the others just go for it themselves. Not sure why the variation in practice. Too bad you have to wait so long to find out the results but December will be here before you know it!

  2. Thats strange that let you put it in…I have been wanded soooo many times that I could do it myself but I wouldnt want to…I have not had the belly u/s yet

  3. I had that same experience last summer when I had to be checked for cysts at my local hospital — they had me insert it myself (so awkward) and then they wouldn’t tell me the results until a few weeks later when the doctor could review it. I also know the frustration of “not knowing” the cause… at least if you can pinpoint the problem, you can formulate a direct plan to fix it, right? So sorry your appointment isn’t for a few weeks, that’s so frustrating… I hope all goes well when the day arrives! :)

  4. I would be totally weirded out if they told me to insert the wand! I’m sorry you have to wait to hear back from the RE on the results, I am sure that is frustrating. Hopefully you’ll have a game plan in place sooner rather than later!

Leave a Reply

