Leibster Award

This month I joined ICLW which is run by StirrupQueens. ICLW has opened up new blogs to me and brought new readers to my blog. One of those new readers is Alie over at Patience Is Not My Virtue. She was kind enough to nominate me for a Liebster award. This award was brand new to me, but apparently it’s awarded to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers (I think that I’m sitting at around 30 – only fellow wordpress followers show up on the bottom of my blog and I know a few non-blogging friends follow by email). Alie said that the rules are to answer 11 questions and then the nominees answer the same questions. Being totally unfamiliar with the Liebster award (Liebster means Dearest in German), I looked it up. All I really found were blog posts from other bloggers who have been nominated. Others seemed to answer 11 questions posed by their nominators and then they posed their own 11 questions for their nominees. One blog I read listed 11 facts about herself, answered the 11 questions, and then posed her own 11 questions. I’m not really sure which way I should do it so I might stick with the 11 questions Alie answered, but perhaps change some. Once all the Q & A is done, you nominate 11 others who meet the under 200 follower criteria.

So to recap: Step 1: answer the 11 questions posed by the nominator, Step 2: come up with your own 11 questions (?), and Step 3: nominate 11 other up and coming blogs that you love to read.

So here are my answers:

If there were one word you could choose out of the dictionary,  which one would you choose to best describe yourself? Analytical. I am always turning things over in my mind, looking at them from different angles, analyzing the nuances. Often I am over-analytical, particularly when it comes to my own life. My analytical nature helps me in (and more than likely guided me to) my current career as a psychologist.

What’s your biggest pet peeve? Wow, I have a lot. My top is probably being interrupted/cut off (even though I am guilty of sometimes interrupting others). I talk a lot (making it hard not to interrupt me sometimes, perhaps) and I like to get my thoughts out. Being interrupted (more so cut off completely) makes me feel invalidated.

Throughout your journeys, what would you say is the most important lesson you’ve learned thus far? That I really can’t control everything and I have to become comfortable with that.

What’s your favorite childhood memory? Meeting up with my 3 childhood best friends and going to each others’ houses each Christmas morning to check out what Santa brought us and also making short breads with my mom each Christmas.

What’s your biggest regret? Nothing. Sure there are little things I would change, but one change could have changed my overall outcome. Aside from our fertility struggles, I love my life. I still believe that we’ll be parents someday and I wouldn’t want to change anything else in my life. That being said, I’d give up my current lifestyle if it was between that and being a mom.

If there were anything about your life experiences you could change, what would they be and why? I wish I had believed in myself more growing up. My lack of self-confidence led me to put up with things and people I shouldn’t have. Also, (stealing from Alie), I wish I liked exercise and my go-to food was healthy.

Tell us something quirky about you. I tie my shoes using the “bunny ear” method (two loops tied in a knot) because I cannot make the proper way work for me (it always comes undone right away) and I have never been able to blow my nose. My ears just pop and nothing comes out.

What’s your favorite dish/meal? Pasta w/ butter (staple from childhood), cheese pizza, garlic fingers (maritime thing – it’s pizza dough with garlic butter and mozzarella cheese – huge as an after-bar treat), chicken fingers, yam fries with chipotle aioli. Basically anything high in carbs and grease.

Who or what’s been your biggest influence throughout life?  As far as positive influence, my mother. She is kind, generous, modest (to a fault), honest (would never even lie and say I wasn’t home if I didn’t want to talk to someone), hardworking, intelligent, and simple in her tastes. She enjoys life and tries to get the most out of it. She is who I want to be when I’m a mom.

Do you have a bucket list? If so, what’s the most ridiculous thing to do on it? I have one but I can’t say I’m 100% committed to completing it. Most of it involves travel. The most ridiculous thing might be to go on a Soap Cruise (you know, the cruises with soap opera stars). I was a huge fan of General Hospital from the age of 14, although I haven’t really watched it in a couple years now. I also used to love Days of Our Lives, One Life to Live, and Passions at different points in my life.

What do you do for a living? I am a school & applied child psychologist. I don’t do therapy/counseling. I mainly do assessments and diagnose conditions such as learning disabilities, ADHD, intellectual disabilities, autism spectrum disorders, and sometimes mood and anxiety disorders.

My questions for my nominees (I might change this up more than I first thought I would, based more on my own curiosity):

1. What was the last good book you read?

2. What is the favorite city/country you have ever traveled to?

3. If there was one word you could choose out of the dictionary,  which one would you choose to best describe yourself?

4. What’s your biggest pet peeve?

5. What was the biggest lesson you learned so far while TTC?

6. Tell me something quirky about you?

7. Who or what’s been your biggest influence throughout your life?

8. Do you have a bucket list? If so, what’s the most ridiculous thing  on it?

9. What do you do for a living?

10. How many kids would you like in total?

11. If you won 50 million (which is the current jackpot amount of the lottery here) what are the first things you’d do with it? (J and I play this game whenever he buys a ticket)

I’m not entirely sure how many followers these blogs have, but at least most of them seem quite new (like mine). I have gained comfort from reading their blog posts and from the comments they leave for mine.

  1. In The Fives
  2. Cirque de Baby
  3. The Crazy Baby Journey
  4. My Journey For You
  5. Project Pearson
  6. Infertilegirl
  7. Waiting to Expand
  8. Our work of A.R.T.
  9. Worth The Wait
  10. The 2 Week Wait
  11. Our W Life

HUGE honorable mention to Crazy Cat Lady Wants Baby and Bébé Suisse who would have definitely been on my nominee list if they hadn’t already been nominated by Alie.

9 thoughts on “Leibster Award

  1. Great answers! I’m a major GH fan as well… you should start watching regularly again, it’s been great lately! Even though I’m very irritated with Jason leaving… but it’s a soap, no one’s ever *really* dead, right? :)

    • I didn’t even know Jason left. He was my fave! Funny story, I was looking through an acquaintances’ facebook photos and suddenly “Dante” was in a couple pics. Turns out he’s best friends with her brother-in-law and stood for him at his wedding (which is what the pictures were of!). Also, one summer I worked with a girl who is cousins (but not close) with the guy who plays Patrick Drake.

      • It just happened last week – in a ridiculous shoot-off at the pier, of course :) And now apparently AJ is back from the dead? Oh, Port Charles. I love the absurdity.

        (ps – I’m so jealous of your “celeb” connections, ha!)

      • Haha I was loving it. I was getting a drink at the bar and I turned to the side and saw him beside me. I said, “Excuse me, but aren’t you Mario Lopez?” This was shortly after his Dancing with the Stars days and the magazines were speculating that he was dating Karina Smirnoff. I asked him if he was haha. We proceeded to talk for quite awhile and then I ran and told my friends and they all ended up going over for a picture. At the end of the night I saw him again and he said bye (and remembered my name). I felt pretty awesome hahaha.

  2. Hello from another analyzer :)
    It is nice to learn a bit more about you in your answers to these questions. Thank you for the shout-out, which is very much appreciated, and I look forward to checking out those on your list of nominees that I don’t already know!

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award | Cirque de Baby

Leave a Reply

