Gratitude

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving in Canada and J and I just had our turkey dinner. In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I wanted to write a post about all the things I am grateful for.

First and foremost, I am thankful for J. I feel so fortunate to have met him and it’s no surprise that I fell in love with him so quickly. He is kind, funny, affectionate, intelligent, very hard working, and caring. Although I’m not a huge fate person, I often think I was meant to meet him. Following high school graduation, my high school boyfriend (dated off and on from the age of 16 to 19) moved to Calgary because he was on the national snowboarding team. I was devastated at the time and started looking into the University of Calgary for grad school. I was 4 years ahead of myself and by the time I graduated from undergrad, we had broken up. I was still interested in the U of C, but this time it was because of a professor I wanted as a thesis supervisor. I applied to 5 clinical psychology programs and I was wait listed at the U of C. I did not get in anywhere else or get put on the wait list anywhere else. Around the same time J was living in Calgary and he decided to go back to school so that he could eventually stop working in the field and become a licensed land surveyor, which allows him to have a senior management position in the office. There are two Canadian geomatic engineering programs – one at the U of C and one at the University of New Brunswick (in my hometown). J decided on UNB and I was never moved from the wait list at U of C, so I moved back in with my parents for a year. Then I met J, we got serious pretty fast, he had a job waiting for him in Calgary and this time I got into the U of C (remember, C stands for Calgary). So I feel like I was meant to end up in Calgary, but only after I met J.

I am also very thankful for all my friends and family. I come from a very small family. My mom is an only child and my father’s only sister died as a teenager.  I have no aunts or uncles, no first cousins, no living grandparents, and I am an only child. I do, however, know several first cousins once removed, second cousins, and second cousins once removed. I also have an amazing group of friends, many of whom I have known since I was very young (1.5 years and 4 years old for some of them). I consider myself to have 8 best friends. That might seem like too many to actually count as best friends, but in many ways they are more like sisters than just friends and I really can’t imagine life without all of them.

I am very thankful that J and I both have jobs. Considering that it is hard to find jobs these days, having any job is fortunate, but it is especially nice to have jobs in our desired fields and to feel proud of the work we do. I am thankful for our home, our health (J may have diabetes but it is very well-managed), the health of our loved ones, and all the many wonderful memories I’ve formed throughout the years.

I am thankful that my doctor took my concerns seriously and ran the blood tests and then put in the referral to the fertility clinic. I am thankful that our wait to get into the clinic was not nearly as long as I had expected/feared. I am thankful that we’ve been assigned to the doctor who was recommended by my friend in Ottawa’s RE and that he has the highest ratings of all Calgary REs on Rate My MD. I am thankful that we’re at a point in our journey that gives me hope and has me believing that we’re on the road to our solution.

For all the longing and lamenting I do on this blog, it’s nice to take a moment to reflect of the many things to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

