West vs. East

As mentioned before, I’m a big fan of western medicine. I’ve always relied on it to cure what ails me and I don’t have any issues with taking prescription medication or over the counter meds if they are appropriate/recommended to me by a doctor. This has something to do with my nerdy, science background and a lot to do with the fact that I was raised by physicians. Due to my fondness for western medicine and treatment approaches, I have neglected the eastern options and, in all honesty, kind of thought of them as flaky.

Given my desperation to have a child, I am now finding myself opening up to new possibilities. I am still going to pursue western treatments as needed, but as I wait, eastern options could offer some form of solution. So, I made an appointment for a free consultation at the Holistic Institute of Health & Fertility (www.fertilecalgary.com). I don’t feel comfortable with ingesting herbs or chiropractic treatment in case they cause harm, but I am open to acupuncture and massage. Unlike most (?) women, I hate yoga. So although they will probably recommend it, I’ll probably resist. I doubt acupuncture or massage could do any harm, so I don’t have much to lose in terms of progress, but they are expensive and if I have to do them often that will really add up. If it gets me pregnant, it would be 100% worth it. But if it doesn’t, and if IVF and/or adoption could be looming in the future, the thought of spending more money scares me.

Leave a Reply

